Some general facts about Denmark:

Capital: Copenhagen (København), approximately 799,033 inhabitants

Language: Danish

Currency: Danish Krone (DKK), 1 euro = 7.46 DKK

Population:  5,967,824

Geographic Region: Scandinavia

Government: Parliamentary representative democracy, a constitutional monarchy and a decentralised unitary state. Parliament named "Folketinget"

Head of Government: Mette Frederiksen (as of June 2019)

Head of State: King Frederik the 10th

Major cities:


Copenhagen: 1.167.000 inhabitants

Århus 307.000 inhabitants
Odense 189.000 inhabitants
Aalborg 197.000 inhabitants

Neighbouring countries: Germany, Norway and Sweden

Area:  42.933 km²






Danish Flag

Fun Fact: Did you know the Danish flag, called Dannebrog, is the oldest flag in the world?

Map of Denmark

Fun Fact: Copenhagen is located on one of the Danish islands, Zealand (Sjælland).